src="" />

Namibia Implements Entry Restrictions Due to COVID-19

The Government of Namibia has declared a State of Emergency to combat the spread of COVID-19 within its borders. With a handful of confirmed cases in Windhoek, Namibia has joined other hunting destinations in implementing a 30-day travel ban on foreign nationals from countries affected by COVID-19.

Beginning today, March 18, 2020, US citizens will be denied entry into the country along with visitors from the Schengen region of Europe, the United Kingdom, China, Iran, Korea and Japan. Schengen includes Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lichtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. All other nationals will receive mandatory screenings at all ports of entry, with roadblocks established at land border crossings to screen inland travelers.

Namibia had already suspended commercial flights from Germany, Qatar and Ethiopia this past weekend, but may add additional international hubs in the near future. Travelers should check with their carrier schedules for updates and be prepared to reschedule their trips. Hunters with safaris booked for this period should immediately contact their operators to postpone hunts until the borders reopen and/or the COVID-19 threat passes. Also, contact travel agents or airlines regarding any booked flights.

Namibian citizens returning from countries affected by COVID-19 will be allowed to return home but will be subjected to a 14-day supervised self-quarantine. The 30-day moratorium on foreigners will be reviewed on an ongoing basis. SCI will inform members of developments as they occur. Watch for ongoing news bulletins.


Scroll to Top