Kansas Suspends Sales of Nonresident Turkey Permits

Kansas Suspends Sales of Nonresident Turkey Permits



The Kansas Department of Wildlife, Parks and Tourism (KDWPT) has suspended sales of general nonresident turkey permits effective immediately. Nonresident hunters who made their spring turkey purchase prior to the order’s effective date may still participate in Kansas’ spring turkey season. The suspension is the result of an executive order signed today by Governor Laura Kelly and is designed to prevent the spread of COVID-19.

“During this unprecedented crisis, we must take every measure possible to protect Kansas lives,” Kelly said. “While turkey hunting is largely a solitary activity, the potential for inadvertent spread of COVID-19 due to travel associated with nonresident participation is something we simply cannot risk.”

KDWPT Secretary Brad Loveless said his department has received a tremendous amount of feedback from concerned individuals. “Initially, this issue seemed self-limiting as nonresident permit sales lagged behind last year’s sales year-to-date. However, as opportunities in other states began to diminish, nonresident demand increased at a rate we are no longer comfortable with.”

Because Kansas’ regular turkey season has yet to open (April 15, 2020), only a small percentage of the nonresident permits normally purchased have been sold. Nonresidents who purchased a permit before the suspension are required to self-quarantine for 14 days if they are from any of the states listed on the Kansas Department of Health and Environment’s Travel Quarantine List (California, Colorado, Connecticut, Florida, Illinois, Louisiana, New Jersey, New York and Washington). Quarantine must be completed prior to hunting and/or checking into a state park cabin.

KDWPT is offering refunds and KDWPT gift cards in an effort to lower participation rates even further. Nonresident hunters may obtain a refund or KDWPT gift card by sending an email request to [email protected].


Save Your Cart
Share Your Cart