British Columbia

British Columbia, often referred to as simply BC, is the westernmost province of Canada. Located on the north Pacific coast of the North American continent, BC borders the US state of Alaska on its northwestern corner and extends inland to the Canadian Rocky Mountains where it meets the province of Alberta. The Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories of Canada border it to the north and its southern border abuts the US states of Washington, Idaho and Montana. BC is Canada’s third most populated province.

British Columbia is generally divided into three regions: the Coast, the Lower Mainland and the Interior.

The Coast Region includes about 40,000 islands varying in size from tiny Mudge Island at 2.5 miles (4 kilometers) long to Vancouver Island stretching 290 miles (460 kilometers) long. Including all the islands, rugged inlets and mountain fjords, the coast runs nearly 17,000 miles (27,000 kilometers) long. The region includes the Insular Mountains, which make up most of Vancouver Island, and the Coast Mountains, which extend into Alaska and the Yukon Territory.

The Lower Mainland  commonly applies to Vancouver and the region surrounding it. More than half of BC’s total population lives in this region. And half of the province’s most populous municipalities are found in the Lower Mainland. Besides the Vancouver area, the name Lower Mainland has been applied to a region encompassing everything from Horseshoe Bay south to the US border and eastward through the Fraser Valley to the Cascade Mountains. The Coast Mountains create the northern boundary

The Interior includes everything inland from the Coast Mountains in the west to the Canadian Rocky Mountains in the east. Between these mountain ranges is the Interior Plateau with its dry inland forests, flanked by the semi-arid valleys of the mountain areas. Canyons and sagebrush grasslands typify its most southern reaches. Its northeastern sector includes British Columbia’s prairie section, called the Peace River Block. Its northern half is often referred to simply as “the North” and features boreal forests and subarctic prairies.

Capital: Victoria

Largest city: Vancouver

Conservation Department: Wildlife & Habitat Branch of the British Columbia Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development

Licenses and Regulations: Hunting in BC

Outfitter Association: Guide Outfitter Association of British Columbia

Hunting Areas

For purposes of wildlife management and hunting, the Wildlife & Habitat Branch of British Columbia’s Ministry of Forests, Lands, Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development divides the province into nine administrative regions.

Save Your Cart
Share Your Cart